Professor Henry Louis Gates, Jr. will be honored with the 2018 Common Wealth Award

April 13, 2018

Professor Henry Louis Gates, Jr. will be honored along with former Vice President Joseph Biden and biographer and historian Ron Chernow with the 2018 Common Wealth Award.  The award was established by Ralph Hayes, a businessman and philanthropist, and longtime member of the PNC Bank Board of directors prior to his death.  Hayes conceived the awards as a way to honor those who made exceptional contributions to the arts, public service, science and other areas.

Past recipients of the award include Lord Laurence Olivier, Walter Cronkite, August Wilson, Desmond Tutu, Harold Pinter, Toni Morrison, Tennessee Williams, Gordon Parks, Sidney Poitier, Arthur Miller, Anderson Cooper, Seamus Heaney, and Meryl Streep.

The Black Tie and invite-only event will be held this weekend at the Du Pont Hotel in Wilmington, Delaware.  For more information on this event check out the articles in Delaware Business Now and WDEL 101.7 FM.

See also: 2018