Today Professor Henry Louis Gates, Jr. will be awarded the 2018 Creativity Laureate Prize at the Smithsonian American Art Museum

April 13, 2018

In the press release it states, “Henry Louis Gates Jr. was chosen for the award for his important work in the areas of arts and criticism, humanities and historical research, genetic science, documentary film, and public service.  He exemplifies the spirit that inspired the Creativity Laureate Award – the multidisciplinary creativity of Benjamin Franklin.”


[Previous Creativity Laureates include: cellist Yo-Yo Ma, Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan, entrepreneur Ted Turner, Nobel Prize winner Eric Kandel, Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, Pulitzer Prize cartoonist Jules Feiffer, actress Meryl Streep, theoretical physicist Dr. Lisa Randall, anthropologist and museum director Dr. Johnnetta Cole, choreographer and dancer Mark Morris, social entrepreneur Bill Drayton, molecular biologist and educator Shirley Tilghman, author Azar Nafisi, and actor and social activist Tim Robbins.]


Professor Brandon Terry will be joining Professor Gates on stage at the Smithsonian this evening in a dialogue. The Award Ceremony at the Smithsonian American Art Museum is open to the public and is already sold out. For more information on this event check out the Smithsonian Associates and Smithsonian Institution website.


See also: 2018